Antigua and Barbuda Blacklisted Countries for Citizenship by Investment

Citizens of following seven blacklisted countries cannot apply for Antigua and Barbuda Citizenship by Investment programme. However there are few exceptions.

Blacklisted Countries

The Cabinet of Antigua and Barbuda, at its meeting held on Wednesday, 2nd August, 2017 updated the Restricted Countries List as follows:

  • Afghanistan
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • North Korea
  • Somalia
  • Yemen
  • Sudan


Nationals of the countries listed are eligible to apply for citizenship in Antigua and Barbuda under the Citizenship by Investment Programme after having met the following criteria:

  • Individuals born in these restricted countries but who migrated before the age of majority and/or have maintained permanent residence in Canada, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, Australia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, for a period of not less than 10 years
  • Maintain no economic ties to any restricted country.

In addition, all applicants will be required to fully comply with the Programme’s due diligence requirements.

The Cabinet of Antigua and Barbuda has taken this position to safeguard the integrity of the Antigua and Barbuda passport and ensure that only persons whose past behaviour will not threaten the very well-being of the Citizenship Programme, can be accepted.

Change of Name

No change of name allowed for the issuance of the Antigua and Barbuda passport.




Free Private Consultation