Dual citizenship for Pakistan and Indian citizens

Indians and Pakistanis applying for Citizenship-by-investment (CIP) programs in Europe  or Caribbean (Dominica, St Lucia, Antigua) must consider dual citizenship options for family and children. Many countries prohibit traveling with two or more passports. India does not allow dual citizenship, whereas Pakistan allows dual citizenship but only with certain countries.


The Constitution of India does not allow dual or multiple citizenships. Indians who have obtained citizenship in a foreign country are required to surrender their passports or apply for OCI. Overseas Citizens of India (OCI) and Person of Indian Origin (PIO) programs does not offer “dual citizenship” status. For example if you take U.K citizenship, you are required to renounce indian citizenship.


The Government of Pakistan has dual nationality arrangements with following 18 countries. Pakistani nationals acquiring citizenship in these countries can keep their Pakistani citizenship.

1 United Kingdom 10 Egypt
2 France 11 Jordan
3 Italy 12 Syria
4 Belgium 13 Switzerland
5 Iceland 14 Netherland
6 Australia 15 United States of America
7 New Zealand 16 Sweden
8 Canada 17 Ireland
9 Finland 18 Bahrain



Free Private Consultation